Kath Murdoch on: Planning for inquiry (reblog)

26 Jun

A wonderful blog post by Kath Murdoch dealing with a subject close to my heart – collaboration and planning within the context of an inquiry approach to teaching. Yes, we are student lead and cannot expect to stick rigidly to a plan BUT quality inquiry teaching – where we as teachers are challenged and sharpened by one another – requires that we take the time to plan, reflect and question with one another.

Justwondering

It’s mid-year planning season in many Australian schools. Each term, around this time, I  find myself more often working with small teams of teachers around a planning table rather than in a classroom or at a podium. I admit, it’s one of my favourite things to do. I love the creative energy that inquiry planning demands of us. I love the challenge of connecting the children’s questions and interests with the resources we have, the curriculum and the teacher’s bigger picture view of where he/she wants to taker her students. I also love the fact that, in the schools I am fortunate enough to work in, teachers are prepared to have real conversations about the concepts the children will be exploring. We take time to ask ourselves what WE understand…over the last week I have had fascinating conversations about the nature of ‘work’, the true meaning of sustainability, what the…

View original post 542 more words

Leave a Reply

