Classroom Decor

13 Jan

It is kind of funny that the most popular post on this blog is the one about the creation of my Crate Stools last year.  They were also a huge hit with my students.  The kids loved having their own special furniture aside from the usual old desks and chairs.  They would often line the stools up as a reading bed, drag them to a table for “team meetings” and perch on them for news conferences.

I love having a beautiful classroom and I have seen the effect on my students.  When I take pride in ‘my place’ – they take pride in theirs.  For me, decorating my classroom is not about a display of prettiness or a shallow representation of my teaching finesse.  Teaching should not come down to superficial displays of ‘got-it-togetherness’.  For me, having an attractive and well organised classroom is a huge part of modelling to students what it looks like to show respect and, create and maintain positive learning environments for themselves and others.

This year I have re-jigged my decor just a little.  Re-covering the stools was as easy as unscrewing the bottom piece of wood and stapling the new fabric over the stuffing.  I am loving my new sewing machine and created a vintage/floral/quilted look with bright happy colours that make me smile – I hope they have the same effect on my  students.  The folding chair is a new edition and I am hoping to paint some little single tables in a folkart-esque way to match the quilt-y theme.

There will be more photos to come once my room is set up.

Classroom Preparations 2014

Classroom Preparations 2013

2 Responses to “Classroom Decor”

  1. Mel the Literacy Coach January 21, 2014 at 9:30 pm #

    Hi Sami,
    I am nominating you for a Leibster Award. Check out my blog for further details. I hope it gets you some extra traffic. I’m back at school this week getting organised for kids to come next week. Where did my holidays go?! Love your chairs btw.
    Mel

    • Mrs Wansink January 21, 2014 at 9:33 pm #

      Thanks Mel 🙂
      I never got around to accepting last time I was nominated but I will make sure I get on it this time! I go back to school next week… Can’t believe how quickly time flies. All the best with getting back into it 🙂 Thank you, I love them too.
      Sami

Leave a Reply

