Day Two and Three: Zero to Hero

12 Jan

DAY TWO: What’s my name?

Teacher on Training Wheels

As I become more experienced as a teacher this blog title may appear less appropriate… I mean, surely a teacher can’t be ‘in-training’ forever, right? Well, yes and no.  The time will come, as I become more experienced, for me to support and mentor new teachers as they begin their own journey.  It will continue to be important for me to step up and seek out leadership opportunities – whether formal or informal.  In order to do this I will need to be confident in my own teaching philosophy and trust my professional judgement.  Training wheels in this context may not seem so fitting.

This is where my beliefs about the importance of teachers being lifelong learners come into play.  I love learning.  That is a huge part of why I became a teacher – because I have a passion for learning and want to encourage and support children to become passionate learners as well.  For me, it is less about the content and more about the attitude.  I want to see children WANT to learn – to be excited about asking questions, to seek ways to apply their learning, to pursue learning for the joy of it (rather than because they ‘have’ to).  I’m sure you’ll agree that children learn a huge amount through what they see modelled.  As a teacher I want to be modelling what inquiry looks like in adulthood.  I want my students to see me asking questions, seeking feedback, applying my new understanding and reflecting on my growth.  This is where I hope that the title “Teacher on Training Wheels” will always be relevant.  I never want to lose my drive to learn.  When I do it will be time for me to find a new career.

So, that’s a little bit about my name.  Even if you don’t have your own blog have a think about what your title or tagline might be for your own teaching career? Is there a phrase that sums up your philosophy or beliefs? Is there a headline that could keep you accountable for becoming and being the type of teacher that you believe is best for your students?

Quote #1

DAY THREE: What’s on my mind?

Is it just me? Am I the only one?

I found my first year of teaching an absolute whirlwind of thinking and reflecting.  I struggled to get my thoughts off my mind and into blog posts and that is something I am hoping to change this year.  To start with I would love to hear from you.  I am sure you all have had times when you have asked yourself “Is it just me?”… well this is your chance – what would you like to hear about? I would also love to have some guest posts this year so if there is something you are passionate about let me know.  Feel free to comment on this post or message me on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

