What a Month!

8 Oct

Wow! It has been far too long since I last posted… life just runs away sometimes!  The month of September was CRAZY!!! My first month flying solo and I’m finally getting around to reflecting on my time in Year 2.As many of my fellow graduates have discovered, real-life teaching is very different to what we experience on Professional Experience placements.  The excitement of finally getting to live out our ‘pedagogical dreams’ is overwhelmed by the flurry of students’ names, unfamiliar routines and lapses in self-confidence.  To be completely honest, there were a couple of days where I went home thinking teaching was the last thing in the world that I was made for.  But when I reflect on my first 20 days of teaching and wise words from my principal I know that this is the career for me.

Challenges

  • Developing rapport with students quickly
  • Stepping into another teacher’s routines and expectations of students
  • Reacting positively to “But normally MrsX does it this way…”
  • Knowing when to take things personally and when to reflect and move on

Highlights

  • Having parents let me know their students are loving coming to school
  • A break through with a reluctant writer
  • Watching the students shine in their school concert
  • Beautiful thank you/goodbye cards
  • Developing relationships with school staff

At the end of the day there will always be distant students, concerned parents, hectic timetables and crisis of confidence.  What is important is that we focus on what really matters – being genuine and transparent in the classroom, collaborating with and supporting our colleagues and passionately pursuing professional development in order to care for our students best.  I am setting myself the goal of focusing on the positives and the things that I can change each and every day.

2 Responses to “What a Month!”

  1. Rinniez October 8, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    Great reflection Sami – nice mix of positives and negatives to prepare me for what i’m going to face next year when I finally start teaching 🙂
    xx

    • Mrs Wansink October 9, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

      🙂 It is hard to balance the positives and negatives but I was getting so down with all the hard stuff that I really needed to stop and value the small successes.

Leave a Reply

